Skip to content

Three join MACS Hall of Fame

The 2022 Mount Ayr Community Schools Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction ceremony will take place Saturday, September 24 as the cap to the Homecoming Week festivities.
New members include Ed Defenbaugh, Dan McGugin, and Brent Wilson.
The event will be held in the high school commons. Tickets are $35 each or $240 for a table of eight. The deadline to purchase tickets is today, Thursday, September 15. Those still wishing to purchase tickets should contact the school.
Social hour will begin at 5 p.m. in the high school commons with the banquet dinner catered by
the Wagon Wheel Cafe of Tingley beginning at 6 p.m.
The induction ceremony will get underway following dinner.
MACHS English/drama instructor Shaun Kniep will serve as mistress of ceremonies.
Each inductee or their family members will speak during the evening.

Dan McGugin

Dan McGugin
Dan McGugin is an 1895 graduate from Tingley.
After graduation he attended Drake University to play football and earn his degree.
Following graduation form Drake, McGugin headed to Michigan to earn a law degree. There he continued to play football and played in the first ever Rose Bowl game in 1902 where Michigan beat Stanford 49-0.
In 1903 he was hired as the Vanderbilt University football coach and became a fixture in American football. McGugin was remembered to be the first coach to successfully work the onside kick.
Except for a stretch in the military service during WW1, McGugin served Vanderbilt through 30 years. He brought home 13 championships. His teams won 200 games while losing 57 and playing 18 ties.
Upon his retirement in 1934 he was the oldest coach in America in point of service with one institution.
He served as president of the American Football Coaches Association, and posthumously, was inducted into the National Football Hall of Fame.
Beyond football, McGugin became an outstanding lawyer and served as a member of the Tennessee state senate.

Brent Wilson

Brent Wilson
Brent Wilson was a very talented musician and names MAC Hall of Fame member Merrill Perry as an inspiration to his music career.
While in high school Wilson was engrossed in the high school band and jazz band and went on to college to play in the band.
After two years of college, he decided to hit the road.
In the years since, Wilson has played with the Burbank Station Band, Buffalo Alice Band, was lead guitarist for Shoji Tabuchi’s show in Branson, MO, lead guitarist for Andy Griggs, lead guitarist for Sara Evans from 2006-2017, and from 2017 to the present he is the lead guitarist for Trace Adkins.
Wilson has played for the Country Music Awards, Academy of Country Music Awards, Good Morning America, The Today Show, The Jay Leno Show, The View, Fox and Friends, GAC Opry Live, CMA fest, CMT Crossroads with Maroon 5 and REO Speedwagon, and has over 50 appearances at the Grand Old Opry.

Ed Defenbaugh

Ed Defenbaugh
Ed Defenbaugh was a 1970 graduate of Mount Ayr Community Schools.
He was the star running back on his high school football team and he set the Class A state meet record in 440-yard dash at :49.7 to win the event by over 12 yards.
Upon graduation, Ed went on to college to study education. He came back to Mount Ayr for a time to teach science and was on the EMT crew.
Defenbaugh served as school superintendent at Tarkio, Fairfax and Cameron in Missouri before his retirement.
For the past five years Defenbaugh has devoted countless hours to volunteering for the Red Cross.

Hall of Fame background
The Mount Ayr Community Schools Hall of Fame was established to create a lasting tribute to groups and individuals who have brought honor to themselves, their schools, and their communities.
The Hall seeks to recognize those who have accomplished extraordinary feats in extra-curricular activities, those who have made significant contributions to the school, and alumni who have distinguished themselves in life after high school.
Individuals and groups from any school which is now part of the Mount Ayr Community district are eligible for selection to the Hall of Fame.
The committee relies on nominations submitted by the public. To learn how you may submit nominations, you may visit the Hall of Fame page on the school website ( or contact the school.
Current members
Current members of the Mount Ayr Community Schools Hall of Fame (and their induction year) include:
Dawn (Huff) Elliott
Jack & Mildred (Dixon) Elliott
Vance Geiger
Larry Hunter
Joe McNeill
Dave Still
Peggy Whitson
Raymond Baker
Larry Giles
Mark Larsen
Chet Roed
Orr Fisher
David L. McDaniel
Bruce & Michell Ricker
Ron Scott
1988 Girls Track Team
Maurice Carr
Lori Sickels Friedman
Ron Landphair
Brent Geringer
Anna-Mae Kobbe
Merrill Perry
1963 Football Team
Carey Crowson
Duane Miller
Jerry Waugh
Kim (McGinnis) Foster
Eugene Ricker
Thomas Teale, Jr.
Harley Wilhelm

Leave a Comment